Closing concert: Gergiev and Gubaidulina

Sat 15 September
8.15 - 10.30 PM
Grote Zaal

Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra
Valery Gergiev

Choir Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre
Soprano Irina Churilova
Tenor Mikhail Vekua
Baritone Vladimir Moroz
Bass Mikhail Petrenko
Stravinsky L’histoire du soldat, suite (septet)
Gubaidulina Cantata ‘Über Liebe und Hass’ – 2018 version, world première


The devil is abroad in Stravinsky’s L’histoire du soldat, written for seven musicians. Gergiev conducts. After the interval, an event of gigantic proportions, including the Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre: Gubaidulina’s oratorio about all the hate in the world and about the love of God.

19:15: A conversation with Valery Gergiev (entrance included)

This concert will feature supertitles. The places on the organ ring and stage ring don't give or give a restricted view on this supertitles. Prior to the concerts you can find the text on our website and all ticket buyers will receive the text by e-mail.

The world première van Gubaidulina has been composed, with the support of the Sylvia Tóth Composition Fund, for the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra and the Rotterdam Philharmonic Gergiev Festival.



Chorus of the Mariinsky Theatre